cou210605 REPORT 2

# **EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COVENTRY**

21st June, 2005

#### **PRESENT**

Lord Mayor (Councillor Lakha)
Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor Ahmed)

Councillor Arrowsmith Councillor Mrs. Lacy

Councillor Asif Councillor Lee

Councillor Auluck Councillor Mrs. Lucas Councillor Mrs. Basu Councillor Ms. McKav Councillor Batten Councillor McNicholas Councillor Benefield Councillor Mrs. Maskell Councillor Matchet Councillor Bhyat Councillor Mrs. Bigham Councillor Mulhall Councillor Blundell **Councillor Mutton Councillor Charley Councillor Nellist** Councillor Cliffe Councillor H. Noonan Councillor Clifford Councillor M. Noonan Councillor Crookes Councillor O'Neill Councillor Mrs. Dixon Councillor Patton **Councillor Duggins** Councillor Miss Reece Councillor Field Councillor Ridge

Councillor Foster Councillor Ridley Councillor Gazev Councillor Ruddy Councillor Mrs. Griffin Councillor Mrs. Rutter Councillor Mrs. Harper Councillor Sawdon Councillor Harrison Councillor Skipper Councillor Ms. Hunter Councillor Mrs. Stone Councillor Taylor Councillor Mrs. Johnson Councillor Kelly Councillor Townshend

Apologies: Councillor Chater, Councillor Mrs. Lancaster

### 26. Declarations of Interest

Councillor Kelsey

The following members declared interests in the matters referred to in Minute 27 below. The minute also records the actions the members decided to take at the meeting, having regard to the National Code of Local Government Conduct and the City Council's Constitution:-

Councillor Williams

## **Prejudicial**

### Member

Councillor Asif Councillor Benefield Councillor Mrs. Johnson Councillor Lakha
Councillor Mulhall

# (NOTES:-

- (1) Councillors Asif, Benefield, Mrs. Johnson, Lakha and Mulhall with drew from the meeting during consideration of this item.
- (2) In the absence of the Lord Mayor (Councillor Lakha), Councillor Ahmed chaired the remainder of the meeting.)

# 27. Notice of Motion – Single Status

Councillor Mutton moved the following motion, which was seconded by Councillor Duggins, as set out in the requisition for an extraordinary meeting of the City Council, in accordance with paragraph 4.1.4 of the City Council's Constitution, signed by Councillors Mutton, Duggins, McNicholas, Mrs. Bigham and Mrs. Lucas:-

"This Council is concerned at the impact of the unilateral imposition of Single Status on service delivery to our constituents, as well as on staff morale, including the provocative use of agency employees.

We believe that this has been caused by the unnecessary haste at which the Conservative administration sought to introduce Single Status on taking up office and associated intransigence, thus ignoring the benefits of a negotiated settlement. We therefore agreed to go to assisted bargaining.

At the same time, this Council requests that the Chief Executive open up a dialogue with the Local Government Association and local Members of Parliament to establish if additional resources might be made available from Central Government".

The following amendment was moved by Councillor O'Neill, seconded by Councillor Taylor and carried, giving rise to the following Substantive Motion:-

"This Council is concerned at the impact of Single Status on service delivery to our constituents, as well as on staff morale.

This Council supports current and ongoing dialogue with the Local Government Association and local Members of Parliament to establish if additional resources might be made available from Central Government and notes that the offer of assisted bargaining has been made".

(NOTE: In respect of the above amendment, a recorded vote was required in accordance with paragraph 4.1.72 of the City Council's Constitution on the resolutions. The Members voting for and against the resolution was as follows:-

For	Against	Abstain
Councillor Arrowsmith Councillor Blundell Councillor Charley Councillor Cliffe Councillor Crookes Councillor Mrs. Dixon Councillor Foster Councillor Mrs. Griffin Councillor Mrs. Griffin Councillor Mrs. Harper Councillor Kelsey Councillor Lee Councillor Maskell Councillor Matchet Councillor M. Noonan Councillor M. Noonan Councillor Ms. Reece Councillor Ridge Councillor Ridge Councillor Ridge	Councillor Auluck Councillor Basu Councillor Bhyat Councillor Bigham Councillor Clifford Councillor Duggins Councillor Field Councillor Harrison Councillor Kelly Councillor Ms. Hunter Councillor Mrs. Lucas Councillor Mrs. Lucas Councillor Mrs. Auckay Councillor Ms. McKay Councillor McNicholas Councillor Nellist Councillor Patton Councillor Ruddy Councillor Skipper Councillor Mrs. Stone Councillor Townshend	

Result: 25 for, 22 against and 0 abstentions.)

Councillor Field then moved the following amendment to the Notice of Motion, which was seconded by Councillor Basu and lost:-

In order to help achieve a fairer outcome, this Council calls upon the Government to re-examine the whole Single Status issue, with a view to providing local councils with extra funding to ease the settlement, as they have done with the NHS".

(NOTE: A recorded vote on this amendment was required in accordance with paragraph 4.1.72 of the City Council's Constitution, and the Members voting for and against the amendment in this minute were as follows:-

For	Against	Abstain
Councillor Auluck	Councillor Ahmed	
Councillor Basu	Councillor Arrowsmith	
Councillor Batten	Councillor Blundell	
Councillor Bhyat	Councillor Charley	
Councillor Bigham	Councillor Cliffe	
Councillor Clifford	Councillor Crookes	
Councillor Duggins	Councillor Mrs. Dixon	
Councillor Field	Councillor Foster	

<sup>&</sup>quot;Delete paragraph 2 and replace with:-

Councillor Harrison Councillor Gazey Councillor Mrs. Griffin Councillor Ms. Hunter Councillor Kelly Councillor Mrs. Harper Councillor Lacy Councillor Kelsey Councillor Mrs. Lucas Councillor Lee Councillor Ms. McKay Councillor Maskell Councillor McNicholas Councillor Matchet Councillor Mutton Councillor H. Noonan Councillor Nellist Councillor M. Noonan Councillor Patton Councillor O'Neill Councillor Ruddy Councillor Ms. Reece Councillor Skipper Councillor Ridge Councillor Mrs. Stone Councillor Ridley Councillor Townshend Councillor Mrs. Rutter Councillor Sawdon Councillor Taylor Councillor Williams

Result: 22 for, 25 against and 0 abstentions.)

RESOLVED that the substantive motion as set out above be adopted.

(NOTE: The meeting closed at 7.40 pm.)